In Massachusetts, any couple can get married as long as each person is 18 or older, and is currently not married. Massachusetts Law requires couples to have a valid marriage license to get married in the state.
To apply for a marriage license, couples must apply together and in person. It is recommended that couples call to schedule an appointment for their marriage intentions.
- When you apply in person, you'll need to bring your IDs, as well as $30 cash or check for the license fee.
- Your marriage license expires 60 days from the date that you file and sign your marriage intention on the day of your appointment.
- The marriage license will be issued and ready for pickup three days later.
- You must get the license before the wedding and give it to the person performing your ceremony.
- The person performing your ceremony needs to complete the license and return it to the Town in order for the marriage to be registered.
Once it has been registered, you can request certified copies of your marriage certificate. The cost is $10 each cash or check, and this can be prepaid at the time you file your intentions.