Public Works


The primary function of the Department of Public Works is to provide municipal services to residents, businesses, and visitors in Bedford. These services include snow and ice removal, stormwater drainage, water supply and distribution, sewage collection and pumping, vehicle fleet maintenance, maintenance and improvement of roads and public property, maintenance of Spring Brook Park, Shawsheen Cemetery, and the Old Burying Ground, and engineering services. The Department of Public Works is comprised of eight major divisions including Highway, Mechanical, Sewer, Water, Grounds, Refuse/Recycling, Engineering, and Administration.

Short Term - Upcoming Work

Long Term - Ongoing Work

Information / Educational Materials