Citizen of the Year

The Citizen of the Year has been an annual tradition since 1979.

The Citizen of the Year is honored by:

  • Riding in the Bedford Day Parade
  • Being honored at a reception at Old Town Hall coupled with the annual Bedford Minutemen Change of Command Ceremony
  • Participating in the Annual Tree Lighting each December on the Common
  • Participating in Pole Capping Day

Nominations for the 2024 Citizen of the Year will be accepted beginning in July, 2024. 

The complete list of prior Citizens of the Year is below. Where possible you can read a biography of past winners by selecting their names.

Citizen of the Year Recipients

2023Angelo Colao
2022Sarah Dorer
Lois and Brown Pulliam
Jeffrey Hoyland (PDF)
2018Meredith McCulloch (PDF)
2017John Linz (PDF)
2016Julie McCay Turner (PDF)
2015Peter Grey (PDF)
2014Alma Pomponi (PDF)
2013Ralph Hammond (PDF)
2012Roberta Ennis (PDF)
2011Donald Marshall (PDF)
2010Robert F. Slechta (PDF)
2009Joseph Piantedosi (PDF)
2008Mary Narcisi (PDF)
2007John Filios (PDF)
2006Robert Mead (PDF)
2005John Brown (PDF)
2004Judith McConnell (PDF)
2003Nick Genetti
2002Donald Corey (PDF)
2001James Shea (PDF)
2000Nancy Moore
1999James F. Sullivan, Jr.
1998George F. Dalrymple
1997C. Emerson Fox
1996Betsey Anderson
1995Doris (Mickey) Webber
1994Michael Rosenberg
1993Kenneth Sheldon
1992Marcelle Schnitger
1991Donna Argon
1990Miriam Adler
1989Charles W Kespert
1988Mary Hafer
1987Lawrence Kimball
1986Fay Russo
1985John F. Perkins, Jr.
1984Louise E Maglione
1983Harold I. Wellington
1982John Earl Dick
1981William J. Beecy
1980Alice E Thompson
1979Louis H. Smith